featured event: Books & Bowling

So as you may know, one of my goals of this blog is to use it to promote and record (the ones I attend) literary events in the Twin Cities community. The more I grow in my network and meet new people, the more I realize how vibrant this community is! So why not have more to show for the events I attend than a few acquaintances?

downloadYesterday, my husband and I both drove to Bryant Lake Bowl in Uptown, Minneapolis for a Coffee House Press event: Books & Bowling. I was so timid going in: how does one play bowling games with people one has only interviewed with and seen in formal events before? But it was a really neat way to connect with CHP employees and other readers. We even had name tags that said “what are you reading?” which is my FAVORITE question and sparked a few good conversations.

I played a round of bowling with my husband Andy and Carla Valadez, Production Director at Coffee House, and met others such as Chris, Lizzie, and Rob, while seeing familiar faces from Graywolf and meeting authors as well! It was fantastic. Thanks, Coffee House, for hosting such a great event!

Next up is next Friday, April 29 is Milkweed Editions’ and Motionpoems’ National Poetry Month Party + Reading! Tickets are required if you are attending the party at 5:30, otherwise just an RSVP is needed for the “Being Among Strangers” reading at 7pm. From the Facebook event: “Celebrate new books by authors Adam Clay, Mary Austin Speaker, andAnders Nilsen. Find out how the ordinary can take on a generative new strangeness when cast in the light of a poem, and how the practice of drawing inspiration from strangers in public places can create new ways of seeing. Target Performance Hall, Open Book.”

Can’t wait to see you Minnesotans there!

Leave a Reply

