get these May events on your calendar!

3. common good3

Each month, I will be posting a “looking ahead” post of events coming up that month to stay tuned for! These are events that are on my radar, either via Facebook or events I am personally interested in going to. As always, in the “Events” tab above you’ll find the Rain Taxi official literary calendar and other resources to help with finding book readings in the Twin Cities area.

I already posted just yesterday, but I know it’s a little late in May already, so here is your rundown of awesome May events coming to a Twin City near you:

  • Wed, May 11: MN Publishing Tweet Up from 5-7pm
    • These happy hour socializing events for publishing and book industry people are run by the MN Publishing Tweet Up group. I haven’t been to one since January, but it’s a great place to meet people in the industry. The “pitch” event I went to was a different format and authors came to pitch their manuscripts to publishing professionals.
  • Mon, May 16: Milkweed and the Loft’s “Taking the Risk to Change Your Life for Art,” a discussion with Ada Limón (poet with Milkweed!) and Joan Vorderbruggen, moderated by Kathryn Savage, with a reading & book signing from Ada Limón to follow at the Loft Literary Center at 6:30pm.
    • Free to the public, but RSVP requested.
  • Tues, May 17: Sun Yung Shin presents A Good Time for the Truth: Race in Minnesota at Magers & Quinn at 7pm.
    •  This book! I am so excited to read this book. I think it’s such an important topic that unfortunately needs more attention than it’s getting. Consider coming to hear from the editor the following contributors: Kao Kalia Yang, Ibé, David Mura, Venessa Fuetes, and Diane Wilson. 
    • I will be working in the store this evening, and sadly won’t be able to sit down and listen, but you can always come chat with me before and afterwards too! Extra incentive (:
  • Sat, May 21: Little Free Library Festival at Minnehaha Park from 10am-4pm.
    • Free and open to the public! From the Facebook page: “The Little Free Library Festival is an opportunity to spend an afternoon celebrating the joys of sharing books and reading.”
    • OMG I am so sad I have to miss this (in a wedding).
  • Thurs, May 26: Story Club Minneapolis at Bryant Lake Bowl, 7pm.
    • Usually they have two featured performers read/perform and then open up the stage to others, but in May this will happen: “this month we are delighted to give our stage to a memoir writing class from residents of Redeemer Health and Rehab. We will be glad to share more details about the performers and their work as the month goes on.”
    • “As always, Story Club features both an open mic segment and a curated selection of stories from invited performers. Our stage showcases stories, like a slam, but with a more welcoming structure – no judges, no scores.” (from the Facebook link above)

And that’s it! Did I miss anything, anyone? I’m SURE I missed many, but as I said, these are the ones that have been on my radar. I really encourage you to check one or two of these great events out and perhaps discover some new awesome reads along the way! Let me know in the comments if there are any others you’re excited about this month! 

 

Leave a Reply

