my 2016 reads so far

It’s June! Can you believe it? It means we only have 6 more months of reading left in 2016! For those of whom have reading goals on Goodreads or otherwise, it can either be an encouragement or a source of fear.

As you may know if you follow my Goodreads, my goal for the year is to read one book for every week totaling 52 books. I’m probably going to surpass that, especially since I consider reading a job now (the books I get in exchange for reviews). As of today I’ve read 40 books of the 52, which is 17 books ahead of schedule!

(At this point, do you think I should nearly double my goal and try to read 100 books? I’m still not so sure. I would hate to not reach it! Maybe 75 is a more realistic number.)

Here’s a small selection of what I’ve been reading lately, along with whether it fits into my summer reading goals or not:

homegoing

This morning I finished Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, a heart-wrenching debut about two half sisters in Ghana, following their descendants both in Ghana and America. It’s pub day was this last Tuesday, so you can definitely find yourself a copy in bookstores today! This fits into my goal of readings more books by authors of color (and one of my 5 ARCS, along with another I just finished) and making sure they get represented equally in bookstores! I think M&Q does a good job of recommending literature of all backgrounds.

Currently finishing up Dark Sparklera poetry collection by Amber Tamblyn that I got signed when I met her earlier this year. These darkpoems about dead actresses are raw, gorgeous, haunting, and poignant. I’ve been taking it slow because I don’t want to be finished yet! I also Google quite frequently while reading, which is what Amber wants her readers to do. This is my May book of poetry goal! So yes, I already failed at reading a new one in June, ahh! But it’s so good!!

ongoingnessI recently started reading Ongoingness: the End of a Diary by Sarah Manguso from Graywolf Press and am loving it so far! I’ve also started to keep a journal again and opted for a 5-year one where I only have to record a few lines every day. It’s nice because now I can look back and remember each day, but I don’t have to be so steeped in recording the details, as Manguso stresses she was. “I wanted to remember what I could bear to remember and convince myself it was all there was.” It’s truly beautiful guys, and short, so you should check it out (: This counts as a book of essays, albeit short ones, for my summer goal.

On audiobook for my car rides, I listened to Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain because I big magicdecided non-fiction would work better for stressful Minneapolis driving. Next, I’m starting Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert. We’ll see how this goes, since I never finished Eat, Pray, Love, and I suspect this book is a lot of fluff. But I like knowing I’m getting reading done even while driving though! This is my second non-fiction book of the summer.

itTo fulfill my horror genre goal, I’ve started a classic: It by Stephen King, to a lot of peoples’ horror (haha, I know I’m terrible). It’s so long! Definitely feels like a summer book to me. I blew through 200 pages at the cabin a few weekends ago and feel like I’ve made zero progress when normally that’s at least half a book! But I really like it so far. I just can’t read it when my cat’s in one of his moods because he’ll scare me out of nowhere, it’s absolutely terrifying. This fits my summer goal of reading a horror novel.

Still working on my classic on my phone during random times of tesswaiting: Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. Unfortunately, I think it’s boring even though I’m sure it’s actually lovely. Maybe e-readers aren’t conducive to classics, like, at all. There’s a huge disconnect for me when I’m using an e-reader, almost as if I’m dreaming I’m reading the book but not actually. I like the physical experience of holding the book and having that relationship with it (hence, why I’m a good fit for being a bookseller! Yay!). This doesn’t count towards my summer goal of reading 3 classics, unfortunately, since I started it a while back.

That’s it for me, for now. I’ll probably start a new book today. I know some people think I read too many at a time, but I can’t just plow through a book like It without breaks to read something non-fiction or beautiful 😉

What are you reading? Making progress towards your summer or yearly goals? Tell me in the comments! 

4 thoughts on “my 2016 reads so far

  1. I actually really loved Big Magic! I’ve never read anything else by her, but so many people recommended Big Magic to me, I went for it. It was like having a big sister tell me to remain calm about my writing. I listened to the audio too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

